Poem: Just Friends

A broken relationship always ends with “Lets just be friends”
I read between the lines and extract the truth
Let’s just be friends
Let me just let you down easy
Like a dog that needs to be put down
Let’s just be friends
I don’t think you’re right for me
But I’ll keep you in my extended circle
and label you an acquaintance
Let’s just be friends
Let’s continue to communicate
Until you fade away like broken satellites, lost in space
Let’s just be friends
Let’s continue this charade
That maybe one day we’ll get back together
Even though you can’t fix broken hearts
with duct tape and glue
Let’s just be friends
Because you can’t give me the bitter pill
And allow me to taste the truth
That this relationship is over
And we will never feel the love we once felt
Allow me to taste the truth
That we’ll become strangers, lost in the void
Let’s just be friends
And when they ask for the conclusion
Making him yours forever
When they ask about our history
In the end I just tell them
We’re just friends

Leave a Reply

