You Lost Me

Stereotypes and first impressions
Judging me off these can lead to bad receptions
Sleep is the last thing on my mind
Cuddling with insomnia like it’s my only lover
Reminiscing about my past
Thinking along the way how I lost lovers
When she kissed me, did she taste my dreams
and swallow sadness?
Wondering how people could love someone at the edge of madness
Falling in love should be a crime
And I’m scared to do the time
A broken heart is a hefty price
So I rather avoid the fine
Days I go cold hearted
Days I’m overwhelmed with emotions
Mood swings come with personality disorders
Holding myself back just to fit in with my peers
I whisper my accomplishments but scream about my fears
Sick of being misunderstood
Misplacing my emotions
Deserving of more but I keep asking for less
How do stand tall but keep selling myself short
Absorbing all the stress
Friends never seem to show up when you need them
But they come looking for handouts when it’s convenient
That’s why my circle is tighter than clenched fists
Wondering if the girl I’m fascinated with even knows I exist
Who knew back in the day I could even write my this
Bleeding ink on paper
Exposing my demons with syllables and words
They lost me at 16, never had closure
Me, Myself and I carrying big dreams on my shoulder
Almost lost me at 24 but I made peace with my demons
I’m flying low on your radar
Flying through storm clouds and strong winds
It’s such a shame
It looks like you’re losing me again

Leave a Reply

